Join Now!

You are here

Bank branch closures roundup: Westpac closes 19, ANZ looks at closing 7

Date of Release: 
Thursday, September 22, 2016
  • Westpac confirms it will close nineteen branches across the country;
  • ANZ closes its Ngaruawahia branch and is consulting on plans to close six more branches;
  • The bank workers union says many of its members are nervous about their futures and asking ‘who’s next?’

The bank workers union says its members at the country’s major banks fear for their futures after Westpac confirmed it will close nineteen branches across New Zealand.

“Our members in the branches are asking ‘who’s next,’” said FIRST Union national organiser Tali Williams.

“ANZ is consulting on closure proposals at branches across the country. Our members are nervous because some of the redeployment options on the table are unrealistic.”

“ANZ branch workers in towns like Milton and Hokitika are expected to take up redeployment in Christchurch if their branch closes. But Christchurch is more than three hours’ drive away,” said Williams.

“Meanwhile, towns like Te Aroha and Otorohanga are taking a double hit with Westpac shutting up shop and ANZ looking to do the same,” said Williams.

“The major banks appear to be systematically abandoning regional New Zealand.”

  • Westpac branches closing: Kamo, Cherrywood in Tauranga, Broadway Avenue in Palmerston North, Bishopdale in Christchurch, Gardens in Dunedin, Waikanae, Carterton, Raglan, Ranfurly, Te Aroha, Fendalton Mall in Christchurch, Putaruru, Whangamata, Takaka, Stoke, Wainuiomata, Te Anau, Fairlie and Otorohanga.
  • ANZ branch closing: Ngaruawahia
  • ANZ branches proposed to close: Massey University (Palmerston North), Milton, Hokitika, Waitara, Te Aroha and Otorohanga.

Copyright © 2011. All Rights Reserved.